Opening hours Cathedral:
Weekdays: 8:00-12:45 and 17:15-19:30. Weekends and holidays: 8:00-13:45 17:15-20:00
Tourist visit: weekdays: 13:00-17:00. Weekends and holidays: 14:00-17:00
Outside the Cathedral you can see at any time of the day or night for free
How to get there : Pla Seu, Barcelona, 08002
Metro . Jaume I (line 4)
If the Sagrada Familia is unique in the world achievement of engineering and architectural design, the Barcelona Cathedral is the main religious Institute of the city and is the seat of the Bishop of Barcelona.
And, despite the lower popularity among urban tourists, Barcelona Cathedral, formally known as the Cathedral of the Holy cross and Saint Eulalia (Catedral de la Santa Cruz y Santa Eulalia, popularly called La seu (La Seu) . is one of the most famous landmarks of Barcelona. The Cathedral is in the heart of the city, in the Gothic Quarter, where once began the history of Barcelona. Modern building, built in the Gothic style, was built between the 12th and 15th centuries on the site of a Romanesque Cathedral, built earlier in the 11th century. The basis of the construction aviastroenie Basilica of the 6th century, dedicated to the Holy virgin Eulalia and destroyed by Moors in 985. buy power balance bracelet
As the name implies, the present Church dedicated to the Holy Martyr, recognized as the patroness of Barcelona. According to the legend, Saint Eulalia was a girl, martyred for the Christian faith in the 4th century. Catalan tradition says that Eulalia left naked in the Central square of Barcelona, to humiliate and force to submit, however, miraculously, right in the middle of spring, the snow that covered her nakedness. Enraged Roman authorities subjected a girl of thirteen to various tortures, one for every year of Eulalia’s life, and, ultimately, crucified Martyr on the cross. In today’s Cathedral in the cloister live 13 white geese . Because for so many years was Eulalia, who according to the legend, bred these birds in his house in the village of Sarria.
The construction of the Gothic Cathedral . begun in 1298, ended finally in 1913 the construction of the spire. The main building was built in the 15th century, and by 1889 the work was finished facade. The construction was completed, based on the drawings of Rouen Cathedral, so today’s Church combines elements of French and Spanish Gothic.
The building of the Cathedral is an undisputed masterpiece of architecture and is of great artistic value . Not to mention a 25 chapels or prayer houses, each of which is decorated with an altar, reliefs and paintings. In addition, the artistic interest is the altar of the Cathedral, decorated with carvings and consecrated in 1337. Attention is drawn to the choruses, which are installed in the famous wooden chair decorated with coats of arms of various orders of knighthood.
It is interesting to explore the Church garden, cloister . which is decorated with columns, a beautiful lake and is surrounded by chapels.
If we talk about the spiritual value of the Cathedral . it is also significant. The main Shrine is, of course, the sarcophagus with the remains of Saint Eulalia in the crypt, under the choir. The alabaster sarcophagus of the work of the Pisan architect Lupo di Francesco was placed in a crypt in 1339, he stands on 8 columns and decorated with scenes of martyrdom of the virgin Eulalia.
Another spiritual wealth of the Cathedral is the image of Christ; according to the legend, during the battle of Lepanto this image were on the ship, Juan of Asturias. Today it is placed in Capitulary hall of the Cathedral.
In addition, in the altar part of the Cathedral and in the chapels are the tombs of the aristocracy . among which the most famous is the sarcophagus of Ramon Berenguer I . the count of Barcelona. However, whether the remains of the Earl and his wife lie in the sarcophagus is unknown. It is also believed that during the construction of a Gothic Cathedral, its walls were buried the Count of Barcelona Ramon Borrell, Alfonso Free, count of Barcelona and king of aragón and other nobles.
The Cathedral has five doors . Among them:
The main entrance, that today is essential and goes to the Cathedral Square (Plaza de la Catedral). It is made in neo-Gothic style and decorated with figures of angels, saints and kings. Portal Svaego Ivo (Portal de San Ivo) — the oldest of the portals, which, for five hundred years served as the main entrance to the Cathedral. It is made of marble and stone quarried on the hill of Montjuic. Piedad portal (Puerta de La Piedad) . leading to the cloister (patio). The portal of Saint Eulalia (Puerta de Santa Eulalia) . also leading into the cloister and is decorated with sculptures of the Holy Martyr. The Saint Lucia portal (Puerta de Santa Lucía), leading to the chapel of St. Lucia, adjacent to the Cathedral and built before its construction.
Explore the Cathedral of St. Eulalia can be independently or with a guide during the excursion, the Secrets of the Gothic Quarter.