With the construction of the bridge was associated with the appearance of the new town, which was destined subsequently to become one of the largest in Siberia. Day of laying the first stone of the railway bridge across the Ob river — July 20, 1893 is the date of birth of Novosibirsk.
It should be noted that bridges the TRANS-Siberian railway for its time were the largest facilities of its kind in Russia. For example, the famous bridge over the Yenisei, constructed under the project of L. Proskuryakova in 1898, has long been one of the biggest in the world in the simple span girder bridges (6 spans of 144 m. the Model of the bridge was awarded the gold medal at the Paris exhibition of 1900). The bridge across the Amur river (1915 project by the same author) had a unique length of 2.6 km Access road with the overpass it in 6 spans of 33m (the project of the famous Russian engineer, Professor G. P. Perederiy) was constructed from the latest structural material — concrete. Continue reading
Participants Isetsky archeological group of the Institute of history and archaeology, Ural branch of RAS under the leadership of Valentina Viktorova has begun to explore one of the most mysterious types of archaeological monuments — dolmens. They intend to examine the nature of these objects, their age and understand how they were built. Later, scientists hope to develop a special program for the study of Ural megalithic structures of prehistory.
As reported by IPAS Valentine Viktorova, in the next week exploration group Isetsky archaeological team will excavate near one of the dolmens located in the upper reaches of Iset lake near the river moving away the source. Before scientists have a difficult task, you need to determine what is the nature of these megaliths, some of them were created by the man and by what time. After exploratory excavations have been completed, the archaeologists intend to continue the fixation of the objects located in the area and received a code name “isetskii dolmens”. Continue reading
Fortress. — The architecture of fortified places has experienced two eras: the era of the allied wars, when each city could be afraid of attacks from the neighbour, and the age of the barbarian threat, when at stake the very existence of the Empire. In the interim period — the period of “Roman peace” — inner fortresses were abandoned, and all attention was focused on the border zone; the city walls of Rome itself was built up with suburban homes, and a new wall was erected only in 270 ad when Aurelian, when Rome began to approach the barbarians.
Fortifications of the first period were built in the Greek style, as can be seen on the fence of Pompeii . The only significant change is the replacement of earthen walls or walls made of stones pritesannye array from Serbia on a solution.
Only a very few cities within the country was adorned with or expanded their wall at times between August and last era, antonín. These Are Fano, It, Autun. The Empire was going through a period of major works of fortification for the defense of borders. Continue reading